apology letter for not attending friend’s marriage

June 27, 2009

DISCLAIMER: Neither I am an English prof., nor this letter is intended as a reference or guideline for writing letters for general public. It is intended only for copy paste people (like me) who only need a quick and emotional letter to send to a good friend. i can only recommend that one should never miss a chance to celebrate with dear ones and near ones and what to say of an important event like marriage; the most important occasion in anybody’s life. Probably the only achievement in most people’s lives. ;)

but if you are out of city/country on some important trip etc etc, then copy-paste the following.

Dear friend,

Bravo! You have done what no single man in this world could do. brilliant! I always knew there’s a really smart chap behind that dumb face of yours and you have proved me right as always!

First and foremost, accept my heartiest congratulations on finding your better half. I know it’s kind of lame and you must be swearing me really bad but believe me, I am here across 7 oceans, sitting in my underwear. I came here 3 weeks back and your invitation came as a total surprise. Be ready for a grand party once I come back in a month or so. Take very good care of your family and have a happy, blessed married life.

And once again, best wishes to you and yours in this new beginning. Eat drink and dance till dawn (you may not get a chance again!) and as Mark Twain said, “After all these years, I see that I was mistaken about Eve in the beginning; it is better to live outside the Garden with her than inside it without her,” friend wherever you live, howsoever you live, I pray that both of you always stay hand in hand, always together and always happy… as in they lived happily ever after. :-) will bump into you pretty soon and thanks for the invite. It’s a great honour for me.

MTFBWY.

Your stupid friend,

xoxoxo

==========

Dont forget to call or send a gift to your friend at least two days before marriage even if it is just a bouqet of flowers or may be a copy of how to be a good hubby otherwise just a plain, dry mail looks really lame.

UPDATE: The ways of google are weird. If you type “letter for not attending marriage”, you will get this stupid blog as the first link… so embarassing sometimes but it highlights two facts – one that there’s real demand and supply mismatch between people wanting to write letters and the tips on how to go about it. And second, people really worry about small stuff. if you can go to someone’s marriage and get free drinks and food and fun, it’s cool. If you cant make it, write a letter stating the reason and keep working or playing or whatever. And if you dont consider the other person as frnd, no need to write. just chill!! ;)

Anyway, I did part of google’s job and found few links which can be of interest to you, dear reader (i am such a helpful person, i know. YW!).

Marriage Quotes(i copied one from here)

sample letter

some guidelines what if the person broke his marriage just because your letter was not good enough(every possibility we need to account for, no?)

some more samples(prep is the key to success)

a letter from mr bush or obama can be really nice

I wish you better luck next time with Google. ;) (and lastly, you are free to correct any grammatical mistake etc etc anywhere in any of my posts. I like to learn.)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

